Milton Keynes, Stanley in the Fauklands, Douglas on the Isle of Man, Dunfermline, Bangor, Wrexham, Doncaster and Colchester will be made cities on June 6th 2022 to mark the queen’s diamond jubilee This takes the UK’s total number of cities to 76: a precious winner, Perth in Scotland noted a 12% increase in their local economy in respect of their new city status.
In the wake of the Covid-19 pandemic, these new cities will welcome a local economic boost and contribute to the overall UK economy.
The city of Southampton also deserves a special mention as it won the competition for Lord Mayoralty status which means the mayor can be called Lord Mayor. Previous winners are Chester (home of Hollyoaks soap opera), Exeter and Armagh.
The next time new cities will be announced are unlikely to be for the queen’s jubilee and more likely to be for the coronation of King Charles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment